The Bucket List

6 Aug

Image

Well guys, back by popular demand, I’ve decided to write my second post.  For those of you interested, my first blog posting received 70 views in 6 countries, on 4 continents!  Not too shabby if I say so myself.  So what if I spammed my friend’s on Facebook and made them follow me, it still counts right?

Now if you caught on to what this post was about by just reading the title, then pat yourself on the back for a job well done. Your chocolate chip cookie is in the mail.  If you didn’t, the picture above should give you some inclination.  If you still don’t get it….well…..oh look a squirrel!

I’m an avid fan of the Elite Daily website, which is the “premier online destination for aspiring men and women alike.”…their words not mine.  The website covers a variety of topics from sports and technology, to love and life,  and I encourage everyone to check it out.  In the last few weeks, the website has had a few articles on things to do and places to go in your 20s. Naturally, I read over the list and realized that I had only done one of the items.  Now I understand that this isn’t a game of Simon Says and that I must go out and do everything that ONE writer said I must do, but after much thought, I’ve decided to create the world’s greatest (in my own mind) Bucket List, sort of like those MTV guys on the Buried Life, minus the money and the TV Cameras. For those of you that have been living under a rock for the last oh…forever, a Bucket List is quite simply, a list of things to do before one dies…or rather, kicks the bucket (see what I just did there?).  So, in no particular order of awesomeness, I give you my Bucket List.

1.  Go on a South African Safari – Need I say more?  Lions, tigers, bears…okay there aren’t any bears…wait..tigers don’t live there either….well lions do..and hippos….hippos are cool as shit.   

2.  Heineken Departure Roulette – You arrive at JFK airport and you have a choice…take your regularly scheduled flight to wherever you were supposed to go…or…press a button and end up anywhere in the world, all expenses covered. Albeit a little scary, there’s something about Option B that is just downright…sexy?

3. Challenge Paula Deen to a Cook-off – Too Soon?  Seriously though, I love good food and would love to become a respectable chef in my own right.  I think that food is a great way to bridge gaps, break language barriers, and build relationships.  Virginia Woolf (English novelist, interesting story on her…committed suicide by filling her pockets with rocks and drowning in the Ouse River in York….ouch) said “One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.”  I couldn’t agree more.

4.  Get Pilots License – For those of you who read my first blog post, you probably remember something along the lines of: I. Love. Airplanes.  So it would only be natural for me to attain a pilot’s license.  To date, I have about 25 hours in a Rockwell Aero Commander.  Google “Bob Hoover, Aero Commander”.  Thank me later.

5.  Create a Non-Profit Charity – I believe that the best way to live your life is to leave the world a little bit better than when you met it.  As a result, I’d like to help the less fortunate in some way.  Haven’t quite figured out the how yet, but it will happen.

6.  Eat Ice Cream in Dubrovnik….again – It was that damn good.  After my Euro adventure a few weeks ago, I’ve been craving it.  While I was there, our tour guide introduced us to this quaint ice cream shop, La Dolce (or something like that), hidden through a side street off the beaten path.  I ate three Ice Cream Cones in 20 minutes…a new personal best.

7.  Sky Diving – I have a problem with jumping out of a perfectly good working airplane.  What I will do however, is indoor sky diving.  My profession unfortunately accounts for a lot of “worse case” scenarios.  My thought process: if something goes wrong at 10-20 feet, I have a broken leg…something goes wrong at 2,000 feet, I have a broken…everything.

8.  Learn Another Language – Nam Ipsa loquitur. For those of you that are feeling lazy… http://lmgtfy.com/?q=what+does+nam+ipsa+loquitur+mean+in+english

9.  Visit all the Islands of The Bahamas – Okay with over 700 islands and cays, that may be impossible.  I truly believe that we have one of the most beautiful countries on earth, so why not explore it?

10.  Create A Deeper Relationship with God – People of all ages, races, creeds, all have their own belief systems.   I grew up in the church…well…sort of anyways.  I’m not anywhere near perfect and just like everyone else I have my flaws.  It was always stressed to me the importance of having a relationship with God, and it’s something that I really believe in and would like to have.  Faith is necessity to a man.  Stand for nothing and you’ll fall for anything.

I’m learning day by day, life is what you make it, you win some, you lose some.  When things happen in our lives, we get so wound up, that we lose focus of what’s really important in life.  So enjoy the time while you’re here because really and truly…you’re on borrowed time (how many people thought I was about to say YOLO?).  So get out there people, dance like nobody’s watching, love like it’s your last day, fart and blame it on the guy next to you, just make the best out of each and every situation. 🙂

2 Responses to “The Bucket List”

  1. Mary August 7, 2013 at 5:06 am #

    Fart and blame it on the next guy…. Lol
    I really enjoyed this post! ESP #5 and 10.

Leave a Reply

