Daydreams…

19 Aug

dreams

So I’ve been on a bit of a writing hiatus…sue me. I’ve decided to try to get the creative juices flowing again…well at least long enough to write another post.

Remember when you were a little kid, and people would ask you the age old question….”What do you want to be when you grow up?”  I remember being in primary school and having this question posed to me and my other snotty nosed peers.  The answers ranged from the usual to the exotic. Fire Fighter, pilot (yours truly), doctor, bee catcher (pretty sure we made fun of that guy for wanting to be something that stupid).  After much thought, I realized that a lot of the people (myself included) didn’t become what we said we were going to.

Now before you guys start commenting on how stupid I could be to trust anything a bunch of 7 year olds say, my theory isn’t based on that story alone.  Think about your high school and college friends…how many of them are actually doing what they said they would or studied?  Now obviously, there are a plethora of outside factors that influence what actually happens…lack of money, struggling job market, or quite simply don’t want to do it anymore.

So what was my excuse for not becoming a pilot?  Fear.  For awhile, I, Jonathan Hanna was afraid to get on an airplane. Why?  When I was about twelve years old, I was traveling by myself to a tennis tournament on another island, where I was due to play the next day.  I got on board the airplane and everything was normal….right until just after takeoff.  The airplane swayed to the right violently (in my mind anyway) and you could just tell that something didn’t feel right.  The pilot came on and said that we had mechanical issues and would be returning to the airport.  I would later find out that we had an inflight engine shutdown.  Now despite knowing that airplanes are designed to fly on one engine, and all the other safety facts, it was downright scary.  I was on an airplane by myself with no one to turn to. It was the most alone I’ve ever felt in my life. There are a million what ifs that go through your head and for the next few years I was rattled…the thought of flying while still enamoring, was clouded by fear and doubt.  This lasted till I was a good ways through my collegiate career until one day I had had enough.

I decided that the whole thing was silly, I had stopped dreaming because of fear.  It made me wonder how many of us stopped believing in our dreams out of fear or out of doubt?  I decided from that moment, I wouldn’t be afraid anymore, that I’d just go flying and enjoy the experience like I previously had.  To date its been working. I’m currently reliving the dream and trying to figure out ways to try to get my pilots license.

All this to say never give up on your dreams people…sure there will be roadblocks and setbacks, but if you really want to do something you’ll find a way. Remember if your dreams don’t scare you, you’re not dreaming big enough.

Leave a Reply

