The Grand Parent.

9 Sep

Grammy

 

South Beach, and no, not the one with drinks flowing like rivers, neon lights, and scantily clad dressed women…and men for that matter.  The one I refer to was like a second home to me because located here was my grandmother’s house, a place where you were sure to always get a great story and an even greater meal.  Her home was where I learned some of the finer things in life: the importance of having a relationship with God, treating people with respect, having integrity and dignity.  It was also a place I learned some of the not so fine things in life (but still equally as important) like how to drink hot tea without burning your mouth off…more on this at a later date.

For all intents and purposes, my grandmother was a strong woman.  She was independent, a stronghold in the church (a founding member), staunch with her views, but her most admiring quality was her generosity.  She didn’t need to know you, and in some cases, she didn’t particularly care to, but if you needed something & she was able to provide it, consider it yours.  She was the definition of selfless.

The last few months, it was hard to see her sick.  There was an overwhelming feeling of helplessness.  Before I left to go to Houston, I went to visit her and we sat and talked for awhile, it was one of her better days.  As I was getting ready to leave, she squeezed my hand and told me she loved me, I reciprocated and told her, I’d see her when I got back, I’d only be gone for a short while.  I wouldn’t.  Had I known that would have been the last time I saw her, I would’ve stayed a little longer, but we are all well aware of hindsight and the issues it brings.  It’s surreal at times knowing that she isn’t here.

I’ve been struggling to find the right words to string together but I don’t know if I ever will find them.  Words are an injustice to the person my grandmother was.  Despite it all, I know that you’re in a greater place, I just wish I could’ve said goodbye.

 

3 Responses to “The Grand Parent.”

  1. MC September 9, 2014 at 2:29 pm #

    May she rest in eternal peace ❤

  2. traceyraimondo September 10, 2014 at 6:07 pm #

    You are an awesome writer little brother, believe me when I tell you grams is smiling because of what you wrote….

  3. Ash September 15, 2014 at 7:27 am #

    This was beautiful.

Leave a Reply

