The Islander: Volume 2

20 Mar

I had heard the stories.  The complaints.  People from near and far, offering different accounts but the underlying theme remained.   Is this how my mother feels when she walks out I thought?

Rewind to last week.  I had only recently just moved to Marsh Harbour and still had not yet gotten the keys to my apartment.  Not only was I scheduled to move into my new place on Tuesday, but Jhené was slated to arrive at 10AM.  I hadn’t seen her in about a week and I was beginning to get anxious.  Did she look the same?

I went to the dock at 11AM to pick her up.  I was late.  When I saw her though, I was elated. She was a bit salty (probably because I was late and the fact that she had just taken an overnight trip on a boat) but she lit right up.

Hyundai-Sonata-2013-White-Sedan-Limited-Gasoline-4-Cylinders-Front-Wheel-Drive-6-Speed-Automatic-76234-3

Who did you think Jhene was?

Later on that afternoon, I got the keys to my apartment and here is where the fun started.  I decided that I had to go into the local grocery store to collect a few items .  Now I picked up a fair amount of things the usuals, trash bags, hangars, bread etc.  The bare necessities if you will.  When I got to the cash register to pay is when I damn near fainted.  I’m not going to tell you how much I spent.  Just know that it exceeded some countries defense budgets.  I have a new appreciation for my mom and her grocery store rants.  (Mom I appreciated it then as well…no need to lecture me about that later.)

After getting swindled out of my life savings, later on in the week I got the opportunity to see Treasure Cay for the first time.  After leaving my place and heading north for about 30 mins, one would happen upon Treasure Cay.  Treasure Cay to put it mildly is well, gorgeous.  Uninterrupted beach extends for what seems like miles, the waters are 50 shades of turquoise and blue, and the houses are straight out of MTV’s Cribs.  Don’t just take my word for it though, have a look for yourself.

IMG_5004

Not a cloud in the sky.

See.  Told you.  It was really nice to just be on the beach with my thoughts, if only for a little while.  I’m settling in nicely for the most part however, there are still some things that I’m getting accustomed to.  Sometimes I have to remind myself that it’s not the city life and that the same amenities don’t apply here.  For example, everything is closed on Sunday bar one or two places.  All in all, Abaco is turning out to be an extremely beautiful place and with another 893 days to go, I plan to venture out and see all of it.  Life’s a beach.  Enjoy the waves.

 

 

4 Responses to “The Islander: Volume 2”

  1. Matysha March 20, 2017 at 9:19 pm #

    Awesome read Jonny…I love the foodstore in Abaco though. The items are so fresh…far fetch from what is offered around my hood here in Nassau.

  2. Lamar March 20, 2017 at 10:02 pm #

    You will adjust quite fine. You will not want to come back to the jungle once you are settled. So enjoy and find contentment on that beautiful Island.

  3. Lama March 21, 2017 at 12:20 pm #

    Looks beautiful and sounds like you are in Paradise!! Glad you are settling in, can’t wait to read more about your adventures! Congratulations on the job. Btw, because I’m lazy to google Abaco is still in the bahamas but a smaller island? xx

    • jonathanhanna2 March 22, 2017 at 5:30 pm #

      Hi Lama, Thank you! Aback is Northeast of Nassau where I lived previously and just a smaller population is all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

