The Islander: Volume 6

24 Apr

IMG_3786

So… I missed a week.  Don’t get mad.  Look, I even put a pretty scenic picture up to make up for it.  It’s been a rather hectic two weeks for me and while I’ve been meaning to write, I just hadn’t found the time.  But fear not, I have lots to share so let’s start with my most recent weekend and I will work my way backwards in the next post later on this week.

With one of my best friends turning 30 and celebrating by throwing a party that I was invited to told I would die if I didn’t attend, I took the opportunity to head home for the weekend and to catch up with friends and family that I hadn’t seen in awhile.  Cause, you know, more life and what not.

As soon I touched down into Nassau on Friday afternoon, I hadn’t realized how much I had missed home.  Obviously you miss family and friends and the ability to do certain things sometimes, but in some way I guess I had blocked it all out since I had moved. While I’ve been in Marsh Harbour, there are certain people I feel like I know because I see them everywhere.  But this was different…Nassau was so busy!   I almost felt like I was in New York City.  There was traffic…people I hadn’t seen before…it was magical.  There was even more than one street light that I had to stop to.  I hadn’t realized how acclimatized I had gotten to the slowness in Abaco.  Everyone here seemed to be in a rush.

For those of you that don’t know, it’s also election time in the Bahamas which means….

giphy

Sidewalks!!!!!!  You get a sidewalk!  She gets a sidewalk!  Everyone gets a Sidewalk!!!!!

Oh.  Also signs.  Sidewalks, signs, and stripes (road striping).  Not like we wanted to hear about how the parties are going to rid the country of social ills, bring jobs to the economy or anything like that.  We just want some where to run safely clearly.  I digress.  I was happy to be home.  I also caught up with a few strangers during my trip home.

 

IMG_7795

Exhibit A

I hadn’t seen my mom since February due to conflicting travel schedules so I was happy to see her and to spend some time with her.  It was also good to know that she would still make breakfast and do my laundry occasionally.  I was getting concerned that she’d forget or even worse…just not want to do it anymore.  The horror of that thought.  I’m kidding…sort of?  It was nice having a familiar voice around.  She even found time to do that Mom thing where they tell you that you should do something a certain way, you disagree, and then they keep reminding you to do it in random conversation until you give in and just do it.  An Example from yesteryear:

Mom: “Hey I had dinner at this amazing restaurant last night.”

Me: “What’s it called?”

Mom: “Luciano’s.  They had this band playing called Clean your room and wash the car…really cool guys.”

You get the gist.  The rest of the weekend felt like a blur as I caught up with friends and family that I hadn’t seen in awhile.  It was a great feeling just to be able to relax among familiar faces where you aren’t the stranger.  I was also happy that I decided to extend my stay in Nassau an extra day.  With the weather slated to be bad in Nassau and Marsh Harbour, I was in no rush to drown while trying to enplane/deplane.

All too quickly, I was back in the airport heading back to Marsh Harbour.  As much as I enjoy living here, it definitely has made me appreciate home.  As much as I appreciate home however, I’ve taken the stance that home is where my suitcase is and for the time being, that’s here in Abaco.

P.S.  My food processor arrived.  I’ll take a picture in the next post and introduce you guys.  I’m also trying to come up with a name for her so I’d appreciate any opinions.  I have used it and decided to make Jerk Chicken the other day.  I surprised myself.  It was really good…like I would have paid for it.  If this whole aviation thing doesn’t work out…nah…who am I kidding?

IMG_5203

Life’s a beach.  Enjoy the wave.

 

 

Leave a Reply

